Dossier F-627-05 - Multi Campus Council Meeting - Agenda and Minutes - October 1982

Zone du titre et de la mention de responsabilité

Titre propre

Multi Campus Council Meeting - Agenda and Minutes - October 1982

Dénomination générale des documents

  • Document textuel

Titre parallèle

Compléments du titre

Mentions de responsabilité du titre

Notes du titre

Niveau de description




Zone de l'édition

Mention d'édition

Mentions de responsabilité relatives à l'édition

Zone des précisions relatives à la catégorie de documents

Mention d'échelle (cartographique)

Mention de projection (cartographique)

Mention des coordonnées (cartographiques)

Mention d'échelle (architecturale)

Juridiction responsable et dénomination (philatélique)

Zone des dates de production


  • October 1982 (Création/Production)
    Douglas College Student Society

Zone de description matérielle

Description matérielle

1 folder

Zone de la collection

Titre propre de la collection

Titres parallèles de la collection

Compléments du titre de la collection

Mention de responsabilité relative à la collection

Numérotation à l'intérieur de la collection

Note sur la collection

Zone de la description archivistique

Nom du producteur


Histoire administrative

The Douglas College Student Society (DCSS) was incorporated in 1972 under the Society Act with a mandate to represent and protect the rights and interests of students. The makeup of the Society's executive membership has changed over time, but typically included a President, Vice President(s), Secretary, Treasurer, and campus- or program-specific representatives. At different times in the history of the DCSS, the records of the Executive were collected by a staff person who was also responsible for the management of Society business/administration.

When the DCSS was formed it represented students from three campuses: New Westminster, Surrey, and Richmond. For this reason, the earliest governing body of the DCSS - the Student Council - was also sometimes called the Tri-Council. By 1979, five additional campuses were also being represented by the DCSS: Coquitlam, Langley, Maple Ridge, Agnes Street, and Newton Centre. Consequently, the DCSS's governing body became the Multi Campus Council. In the early 1980s, following the College's split into two separate institutions, the DCSS updated its Constitution and its governing body was reorganized as the Senate. Rather than a campus-specific focus like its predecessor, the Senate used a model of representation based on areas of study.

In 1992, DCSS membership voted to leave the Canadian Federation of Students, only to re-join the national organization six years later. In 1999, the DCSS underwent a restructuring in which it was renamed the Douglas Students' Union (Canadian Federation of Students, Local 18).

Historique de la conservation

Materials were transferred to the Archives from the DCSS offices in two accessions, one in 1984 and one in 1985. The bulk of the records in these accessions were created between 1977 and 1985, a period that closely maps onto the years in which Merrilyn Houlihan worked as the Society's business manager.

Portée et contenu

File consists of materials pertaining to the Multi Campus Council's October 1982 meetings. These include agendas, minutes, and supporting documents. Also included are meeting and financial materials pertaining specifically to McBride Site Campus Council.

Zone des notes

État de conservation

Source immédiate d'acquisition

Office of the Douglas College Student Society


According to Jean Cockburn's finding aid (1986), this file was part of an accession in which files were originally arranged in a single continuous alphabetic sequence by topic. Cockburn integrated this accession with another and rearranged files under functional sub-groups. "The contents of files were rearranged where obvious misfilings had occurred." For more information about Cockburn's arrangement, please view the Archives' original finding aid.

Langue des documents

Écriture des documents

Localisation des originaux

Disponibilité d'autres formats

Restrictions d'accès

Délais d'utilisation, de reproduction et de publication

Instruments de recherche

Original 1986 finding aid available, prepared by Jean Cockburn.

Éléments associés

Éléments associés


Note générale

The Multi Campus Council was the DCSS governance body from 1978-1983. It was comprised of the DCSS Executive (President, Vice President Internal, Vice President External, and Treasurer) and elected representatives from eight Campus Councils: New Westminster, Surrey, Richmond, Coquitlam, Langley, Maple Ridge, Agnes Street, and Newton Centre. During a Multi Campus Council meeting, each executive (excluding the President) had one vote and each campus council had two. The Multi Campus Council was preceded by the Student Council (sometimes called the Tri-Council) and was succeeded by the Senate.

Identifiant(s) alternatif(s)

Zone du numéro normalisé

Numéro normalisé


Mots-clés - Sujets

Mots-clés - Lieux

Mots-clés - Noms

Mots-clés - Genre

Zone du contrôle

Identifiant de la description du document

Identifiant du service d'archives

Règles ou conventions


Niveau de détail

Dates de production, de révision et de suppression

Langue de la description

Langage d'écriture de la description


Zone des entrées

Sujets associés

Personnes et organismes associés

Lieux associés

Genres associés

Localisation physique

  • Boîte: 627